The Place of the Child

by Ezewi Jennifersoter

Doula welcomes me at applause,
Signal announces my arrival.
I am for peace, but learns to war from you.
If your security fails me, my strategy will defend me.
I live to make you happy.
Where then is my place?

Secure me now I pray, to avoid my return of announcement.
If I am happy, I copiously flow!
But when am angry I cease my flow!
Is it not you that knocks? Yet my protection is not assured.
Where then is my place?

Come rain come shine, I am needful.
You saw me the day I saw you: smiles were in embrace, until care became at war with responsibility.
The child weeps!
Publicity views!
Huddling on the floor is a blenched child whose name is vagrant.
Where then is my place?

I know my name! It is not darkly but highly alarming with authority commanding
the ,dawn ‘chorus.
If you cannot rename me, I will search for me and bear me because I am me: The king of mustard seeds, whose place is with honour and dignity.
My place is peaceful, pure and secured longing for your love.
This is the place of the child.

Leave a Reply

