Design Competition: Apply Now to Win A’ Design Awards & Competition – Call for Entries


Each year, A’ design award & competition celebrates the work of designers, architects, innovators and companies, through a fair and ethical competition that acknowledges their creative and social impact on an international scale.

A’ design award & competition covers the vast disciplines of the design industry. It offers more than 100 categories in which to submit your work these include: architecture, building and structure design; digital and electronic devices design; furniture, decorative items and home design; social design; street furniture design; and packaging design.

Register now and submit your work!
Click on this link:


Voting for the Abuja Radio Awards Is Now Open!


The voting of the Abuja Radio Awards has officially started. To vote for your favorite radio station, show, on air personality, programmes e.t.c.

Text the words ARA13 (Space) Category Code (Space) Nominee to 33140.
E.g. ARA13 RSY LoveFm to 33140.

It is that simple, so start voting now to see your favorites win.
Voting closes on the 28th of March 2014.
Multiple vote is allowed. the more you vote the better their chances to win.
Vote and get an opportunity to attend the event.

#ARA13 Celebrating Voices.

For full list of category code and nominees, visit the Abuja Radio Awards website.

Related stories
Entry categories for the Abuja Radio Awards ’13.
Official Press Release: Abuja Radio Awards 2013

2013 Golden Baobab Prizes Longlist Announced


Accra, August 30th, 2013: The 2013 Golden Baobab Prize longlist has been announced.

The prize, celebrating its 5th year, was set up to inspire the creation of enthralling African children’s stories. Golden Baobab offers three prizes: The Golden Baobab Prize for Picture Books, The Golden Baobab Prize for Early Chapter Books and The Golden Baobab Prize for Rising Writers. The Golden Baobab Prize for Picture Books and The Golden Baobab Prize for Early Chapter Books is open to all African citizens. The Golden Baobab Prize for Rising Writers is open to budding African writers under the age of eighteen years.

According to Nanama B. Acheampong, coordinator of the Golden Baobab Prizes, “Golden Baobab is really excited about this year’s stories and we are looking forward to growing further by publishing a collection of these amazing stories we have received. We are currently looking to partner with corporations that share in our vision to bring these stories to the doorsteps of African children everywhere.”

The longlist had the strongest representation from Nigeria and South Africa. Other countries that featured were Zimbabwe, Ghana, Kenya and Tanzania. Philip Begho and Ayibu Makolo, both Nigerian, had two stories each on the longlist. Below is the full longlist:

Longlist for the Picture Book Prize
Carol Gachiengo – Grandma Mimo’s Breakfast (Kenya)
Mandy Collins – Dad Goes to School (South Africa)
Philip Begho – The Princess with the Golden Voice (Nigeria)
Liza Esterhuyse – The Little Hippo (South Africa)
Nneoma Ike-Njoku – Elelenma (Nigeria)
Philip Begho – The Two-Headed Monster (Nigeria)
Regina Malan – The Butterfly Tree (South Africa)
Ansie Nel – Thumisang and Pulane (South Africa)
Ayibu Makolo– The Little Yellow Frog (Nigeria)
Nahida Esmail – Bibo Learns to Speak the Truth (Tanzania)

Longlist for the Early Chapter Book Prize
Fawa Conradie – Kay Cera Cera (South Africa)
Sabina Mutangadura – Seven (Zimbabwe)
Edith-Susan Uchenna – Christmas in Kemah’s Home Town (Nigeria)
Richard Street – Rhino (South Africa)
Sedem Abla Agbolosu – Kwame Gets a Job (Ghana)
Tunji Ajibade – In the End (Nigeria)
Karen Hurt – What’s Going on at 179 Jabulani Street? (South Africa)
Ayibu Makolo – Madam’s Maid (Nigeria)
Derek Lubangakene – Of Ghosts and Grave-Robbers (Uganda)
Olorunfunmi Temitope – Grandma’s Hens (Nigeria)

Longlist for The Rising Writer Prize
Jennifer Sarfo – Songs of Gods (Ghana)
Kanengo Diallo – Pieces of Africa (Tanzania)
Fego Martins Ahia – The Little Secret (Nigeria)
Asantewa Owusu-Darko – The Busting of the Greedy Gangster (Ghana)
Freda Sarfo – Making a Wish (Ghana)

The shortlist for the Golden Baobab Prizes will be announced on 30th October and the winners will be announced on 13th November, 2013. Past winners of the Golden Baobab Prizes have included Joy Nwiyi from Nigeria, Jenny Robson from Botswana and South Africa and Rutendo Chabikwa from Zimbabwe who won the 2012 Rising Writer Prize.

Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa, Fifth Edition Call for Entries

The organisers of the fifth edition of Wole Soyinka Prize For Literature In Africa have called for entries for the 2014 edition of the Literature Award.

The Chairman of The Lumina Foundation and award’s Board of Trustees, Mrs. Francesca Yetunde Emanuel, said this at a press briefing in Lagos over the weekend.

“On behalf of the board of the Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa, I hereby announce the commencement of the preparation for the 5th edition of the prize, which will take place here in Nigeria on Saturday July 5, 2014 and also call for entries. Any published play or collection of plays by the same author of African descent, published within the two years preceding the year of the Prize (that is a play published between 2012 and 2013) is eligible for the 2014 WS Prize,” Emanuel said.

“The 2014 edition will be the 5th edition of the award and will be coinciding with the 80th birthday of Prof. Wole Soyinka, whom the prize is named after.”

However, based on the judges’ recommendation, the Board of Trustees has approved that starting with the fifth edition, each edition should assess only one of the genres (Prose, poetry, Drama and Essays) unlike in the past that had entries in all genres.

The founding chairman of the Lumina Foundation and a member of the board, Dr. Yemi Ogunbiyi, said the growth of the WS Prize is not only in quality, but also in scope and scale as it has continued to attract interest from many African countries as the years pass by.

“Four awards of the prize have been made in the previous editions with Nigeria winning in the first and second editions, and tying with South Africa in the third while a South African took home the fourth prize,” Ogunbiyi said.

The Judges of the Prize are intellectuals and critics taken from five African countries: Cote D Ivoire, South Africa, Ghana, Nigeria and South Sudan. The overall winner of the award goes home with the sum of 20,000 US dollars.

Source: Nigerian Telegraph (via Save Our Treasures)